Senate Confirmation of CSB Board Members

December 10, 2021
December 10, 2021 – Washington, DC - The U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board (CSB) is pleased to acknowledge the U.S. Senate confirmation of two new CSB Board Members, Stephen Owens and Sylvia Johnson.  Chairperson Lemos looks forward to working with them to build a strong and diverse Board, adding to the skilled technical resources and community advocacy voices as we perform our valuable work.
According to Lemos, “I am proud of the team we have at the CSB, and welcome new Board Members as we rebuild the agency. Each will bring unique perspectives and knowledge to investigations and final outcomes, to the strategic direction of our agency, and in advancing our advocacy efforts.”
In addition to voting on investigations and safety products, another fundamental element of our process – advocacy – is a key role performed by the Board. Each member, based on their experience, technical background, and interest, selects one or two key advocacy efforts from our Critical Drivers List (CDL) to present the CSB’s perspective to our industries, communities, and regulating bodies. This dramatically improves the impact and activity around chemical plant operations with a direct effect on worker, community, and environmental safety.
Back to news